News for Page Lake Powell Arizona

Lake Powell Life News

 Breaking News

Diak Wins Third Term as Mayor

Diak Wins Third Term as Mayor
August 31
11:31 2016

For the third time, Bill Diak has been elected as mayor of Page.

Diak Retires from Hospital

Bill Diak

Running against challenger Jon Jones, Diak received nearly 62% of the votes. 482 ballots were cast for Diak compared to the 297 ballots that were in favor of Jon Jones.

Diak has previously said this will be his final term as mayor and he will not seek reelection in two years.

Running unopposed, John Kocjan, Scott Sadler, and Korey Seyler all retained their seat on Page’s City Council.

Countywide, voter turnout was abysmal. Of the 72,709 registered voters in Coconino County, only 17,370 ballots were cast for a 23.89% voter turnout.

Many of the contested races came on the Republican side of the ticket. Wendy Rogers defeated Paul Babeu in Coconino County by 3 percentage points, but was unable to secure the Republican nomination for Congressional District 1 as Babeu won the election by a 10 point margin statewide.

Babeu will run against the Democratic nominee, Tom O’Halleran who won by nearly 20 points over Miguel Olivas.

John McCain will face Ann Kirkpatrick for a seat on the US Senate after McCain defeated Kelli Ward by 13 points, receiving 52% of the votes cast in the state.

Kirkpatrick ran unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Jamescita Peshlakai was able to hold her seat as State Senator of District 7, holding off challenger Steven Begay.

One of the closest races of yesterday’s election was the one for County Attorney. Bill Ring defeated Gary Pearlmutter by less than 3 percentage points.


Current Articles